Media&Me

With the time going, the effects of media become further and further in our lives, the forms of the media are also more and more.

Advertisement

There are a lot of games’ advertisement before I watched some YouTube videos because I always browsed some gaming videos. I can say that these advertisements definitely influence us, I remembered the game that been very popular a few months ago, “Destiny 2”. Before the game was released, they made a lot of official trailers for the game, they introduced how well the graphics and gameplay are.  After it released,  the official advertisements still not stopped. Every time I opened up some videos on YouTube, the Destiny 2’s advertisements will instantly pop up. As expected, a lot of my friends are attracted and spends $60 buying this game. It causes a significant trend, the online players even rack up to one million. Unfortunately, most of my friends lose the interests to this game only after a few weeks. They all regret the cost of $60, this game is not good to worth such amount of money.

andrae-ricketts-346076

Photo by Andrae Ricketts on Unsplash

Browser

I remembered once I browsed a coat on an online shopping website, then the next day, I was searching for some information for my assignment, and the coat I browsed just pop up because I didn’t purchase it and some other clothing that I also browsed before. As the passage “Mind Control Is Happening To You Right Now.” said, “In 1928, Bernays proudly described how his techniques for mental manipulation had permitted a small elite to control the minds of the American population.”

Bernays created the technique to control the minds of some Americans. So I think google chrome is probably using the same type of technique, they try to catch users’ privacy to reach some goals. This makes me feel unsafe on the internet.

benjamin-dada-323461.jpg

Photo by Benjamin Dada on Unsplash

Social Media

In the past, the news always spread out physically, now we have the media. It makes our lives more convenient, the big news can be known immediately from the internet, but it also causes some trouble. Like the passage “Mind Control… Right Now”, the social media such as Instagram, Facebook and Twitter, their effects on this whole world are not overlooked. Millions of users in the social media are controlled with the official news, just like the experiment in the passage shown, nearly one million of the Facebook users are convinced with their news feed regardless it’s positive or negative. That totally proves that the social media’s effects on the society are tremendous and obvious. Additionally, there are a lot of internet rumors because some people try to make some fake news to bring disorder to the internet society.

william-iven-19844.jpg

Photo by William Iven on Unsplash